It Was Over As Soon As It Began

flashfictionlogoI don’t write flash fiction.  I don’t normally read it either, but I came across these and only one word came to mind.  Wow!!  I don’t know who wrote them and I don’t know what or where the original source came from, but they are quite powerful.  Enjoy!

1. The smallest coffins are the heaviest.

2. Brought roses home.  Keys didn’t fit.

3. I met my soulmate.  She didn’t.

4. Goodbye mission control.  Thanks for trying.

5. Voyager still transmitted, but Earth didn’t.

6. One bullet is a lifetime supply.

7. Mom taught me how to shave.

8. Introduced myself to my mother again today.

9. I just saw my reflection blink.

10. Strangers.  Friends.  Best Friends.  Lovers.  Strangers.

11. An only son, a folded flag.

12.  Passengers, this isn’t your captain speaking.

13. “Just Married,” read the shattered window.

14. Siri, delete mom from my contacts.

15. Jumped.  Then I changed my mind.

16. He hit send, then a tree.

17. Ever seen chalk outlines that small?

18. Dad left.  A flag came back.

19. What’s your return policy on rings?

20. It’s our fiftieth anniversary.  Table for one.

 

2 thoughts on “It Was Over As Soon As It Began

Leave a Reply

