Why Do Writers Write?

why

At a recent book signing event, I was asked, “Why do you write?”  With the millions of books out there, most of which will never reach beyond 500 sales, I guess that’s a legitimate question to ask any writer.  Authors spend countess hours writing, with little to no hope of making a substantial amount of money for their writing.  It is pretty unlikely that a writer will earn a living or become famous through their craft, so if you are writing with hopes of bringing in big bucks, I hate to burst your bubble.  There really are no significant monetary rewards gained from writing.

Then why do writers write?thCDO5RH7Z

I think the answer to this question is personal.  Writers write for various reasons, and the writing experience is different for each of us.  For me, I don’t remember a time in my life when I didn’t write.  Writing is a part of me, and I can’t imagine not writing.

I write because I love to write.

I write because there’s a story that needs to be told, that inner voice inside my head that has something to say.

why I writeI write because it’s my voice.  Writing allows creative freedom. When I write, there are no rules, no one to tell me what I can and can’t do.  I write what I want to write.

I write because often times the written word says what spoken words cannot.

I write to touch lives.  Somewhere in the world, someone is experiencing the same challenges my characters are facing.  I write to encourage and inspire my readers.

whyiwrite

I write to breathe easy for a while.  Life can get stressful sometimes.  Frustrating things happen.  People say or do things that bring about discord.  What better way to push the craziness aside than to write about it?

749f1c8c39c9d89726d045a5de73f30fI write to open doors.  Writing expresses thoughts and feelings.  Not everyone in the world sees things the way I do, and not everyone holds the same opinion I have.  But writing allows thoughts to be expressed and doors to be opened that might have otherwise remained closed.

I write to be the characters I am not and experience lives I don’t have.

I write because I have to write.  Writing is a huge part of my life and a part of who I am.  I write because I’m a writer.

“Why do you write?” What would you say if someone approached you and asked you that question?  Share your thoughts.

why-i-write-final-1

One thought on “Why Do Writers Write?

Leave a Reply

