Author Confessions Round 17

All books need characters the reader can relate to, characters who are believable, characters I either want to root for or smack in the head with the book. As I’ve said multiple times now, I’m all about character. To me, characters make or break a story. Characters in books must have unique personalities and speak in their own voice. There is nothing I hate more than picking up a book and seeing the same characters I see in every other book. Or worse yet, all the characters speak the same way or have the same mannerisms and I can’t tell one from the other. People in this world are unique. We all have our own beliefs, unique personalities, and individual likes and dislikes. Characters in books should be the same way. They should be real. They should hop off the page and speak to the reader. Even good fantasy or sci-fi characters have characteristics of people I might run into on the street. They’re relatable, believable, and each is an individual. That’s what character is all about.

3 thoughts on “Author Confessions Round 17

Leave a Reply

